Honorary 'Lay' Officers

Visitors

[Archbishops of Canterbury, ex officio]

Date	Visitor
January 1965 - November 1974	Most Revd Dr Michael Ramsey
November 1974 - January 1980	Most Revd Dr Donald Coggan
February 1980 - January 1991	Most Revd Dr Robert Runcie
April 1991 - October 2002	Most Revd Dr George Carey
February 2003 - December 2012	Most Revd Dr Rowan Williams
January 2012 to date	Most Revd Justin Welby

Chancellors

Date	Chancellor
January 1963 - August 1968	HRH Princess Marina
July 1970 - October 1990	Lord Grimond of Firth
October 1990 - December 1995	Dr Robert Horton
May 1996 - August 2006	Sir Crispin Tickell
August 2006 - July 2013	Sir Robert Worcester
February 2014 to date	Gavin Esler

Pro-Chancellors

Date	Pro-Chancellor
June 1960 - December 1971	Lord Cornwallis
December 1971 - December 1977	Sir Paul Chambers
December 1977 - July 1983	Dr R Leigh-Pemberton
December 1983 - March 1993	Rt Rev Dr R D Say
March 1993 - December 1998	Lord Brabourne
December 1998 - July 2005	Sir Geoffrey Chipperfield
Chair of the Council	
Date	Visitor

August 2005 - July 2011	Ms V M Marshall
August 2011 - July 2014	John Simmonds
August 2014 - July 2020	Sir David Warren
August 2020 - to date	Dame Ursula Brennan

Deputy Pro-Chancellors

Date	Deputy Pro-Chancellor
June 1960 - October 1970	Sir George Allen
July 1968 - March 1971	Lord Irving of Dartford
May 1971 - December 1977	Sir Paul Chambers
May 1971 - December 1977	Dr R Leigh-Pemberton
December 1977 - December 1983	Rt Rev Dr R D Say
December 1984 - July 1993	Lord Brabourne
October 1993 - December 2000	Sir John Swire
June 1997 - December 1998	Sir Geoffrey Chipperfield
January 2000 - July 2004	Sir Derek Boorman
August 2003 - July 2005	Jonathan Sloggett

Deputy Chair of the Council

(Combined with the post of Chair of the Finance and Resources Committee from August 2006)

Date	Visitor
August 2005 - July 2006	Jonathan Sloggett
August 2006 - July 2011	John Simmonds
August 2011 to July 2015	Tony Quigley
August 2015 to date	Bob Scruton

Treasurers

Date	Treasurer
September 1963 - July 1977	Dr T E G Baker
August 1977 - July 1992	Dr U H B Alexander
August 1992 - July 1998	Dr J Bird

August 1998 - July 2004	Dr A A Dunning
August 2004 - July 2005	Ms V Marshall
August 2005 - July 2006	Sir Robert Worcester

From August 2006 appointment of Chair of the Finance and Resources Committee and Deputy Chair of the Council were combined.

Deputy Treasurers

Date	Deputy Treasurer
June 1965 - July 1977	Dr T B Bunting
August 1977 - June 1990	Dr J A Lawton
July 1990 - July 1992	Dr J Bird
August 1992 - July 1998	Dr A A Dunning
August 1998 - July 2004	Mr R S Norman

The post of Deputy Treasurer was disestablished with effect from August 2004.